RMIT stands for inclusion
3 min read

Technology and design tertiary institution RMIT University, law firm Dentons and community support agency Advance Diversity Services are among this year’s top employers and service providers for LGBTQ inclusion in Australia.

At a preliminary awards announcement for the 2020 Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards held online earlier today, RMIT was named ‘Employer of the Year’ – for the second year in a row – while Dentons was announced ‘Small Employer of the Year’. Advance Diversity Services, which provide support services to culturally and linguistically diverse communities, was named ‘Service Provider of the Year’.

Other top honours went to Commonwealth Bank, PwC Australia and University of Western Australia, which all received the highest tiered ranking for LGBTQ inclusion while engineering group John Holland named ‘Most Improved’.


The 2020 Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards is Australia’s leading annual celebration of LGBTQ workplace inclusion. Usually held in May, this year’s event is being held on 19 October 2020 at the Hyatt Regency in Sydney.

The awards are hosted by ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, the national not-for-profit LGBTQ inclusion support program for employers, sporting organisations and service providers.

The awards are based on the results of the Australian Workplace Equality Index (AWEI) – which is now in its tenth year – and the second Health + Wellbeing Equality Index (HWEI).

The AWEI and HWEI are rigorous and evidence-based benchmarking tools that annually assesses workplaces in the progress and impact of LGBTQ inclusion initiatives.

Dawn Hough, Director of ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, said she was excited to have been able to share the initial results of the indices and the wonderful achievements of various organisations in LGBTQ inclusion.

“This year marks an important milestone for the AWEI, as it celebrates its tenth anniversary,” Hough said.

“Over the past decade, we have seen incredible advancements in workplace diversity and inclusion. As we progress further, it remains critical that not only efforts are acknowledged and congratulated, but pressure continues to be applied to maintain and build upon what has been achieved.

“Once again, we have record numbers of employers across all sectors and states participating in the indices. The employee survey that accompanied the AWEI elicited an incredible response, which underscores the importance of LGBTQ inclusion in the workplace.

Hough said she looked forward to unveiling the recipients of the individual awards at the luncheon in October, which will be hosted by SBS World News presenter Ricardo Gonçalves, feature The Voice 2016 winner Alfie Arcuri and be attended by business leaders, diversity advocates and HR professionals representing a wide variety of industries, sectors and employer sizes.

“Today’s announcement of the finalists of the individual awards gives us an insight into the amazing breadth of work being done by so many in making organisations across Australia more inclusive of LGBTQ people and communities. I look forward to celebrating their achievements at the 2020 Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards,” Hough said.


Australian Workplace Equality Index

Employer of the year

  • RMIT University

Most Improved

  • John Holland

Platinum Employers

  • Commonwealth Bank
  • PwC
  • UWA

Gold Employers 

  • AGL Energy
  • Brisbane City Council
  • Capgemini
  • Clayton Utz
  • Deloitte
  • Department of Agriculture
  • IBM
  • P. Morgan
  • NAB
  • QBE Insurance
  • SBS
  • Queensland Dept Education
  • RMIT University
  • UNSW
  • Woolworths


Silver Employers

  • Alcoa of Australia
  • ASIO
  • CBRE
  • Deakin University
  • Department of Social Sciences
  • DLA Piper
  • Energy Australia
  • Hollard Insurance
  • HSBC Australia
  • KPMG Australia
  • Macquarie University
  • Monash University
  • NSW Police Force
  • Qantas
  • ScentreGroup
  • University of QLD
  • University of Sydney
  • Westpac

Bronze Employers 

  • ABC
  • Allens
  • Allianz
  • Aurecon
  • Australian Federal Police
  • Australian Taxation Office
  • Coles
  • Department of Defence
  • Dept Education & Training
  • Department of Health
  • Department of Health & Human Services
  • Department of Industry, Innovation & Science
  • Griffith University
  • IAG
  •  Jacobs
  • John Holland
  • Maddocks
  • Mercer
  • NBN Co
  • Salesforce
  • Services Australia
  • Settlement Services International
  • Stockland
  • The Star Entertainment Group
  • Uniting
  • University of Wollongong
  • Victorian Department of Environment, Land Water & Planning

Small Employer of the Year

  • Dentons

Achievement Award for Most Improved Small Employer

  • ADSSI Limited

Gold Small Employers

  • Boston Consulting Group
  • Clifford Chance
  • Dentons
  • McCullough Robertson Lawyers
  • Oliver Wyman
  • PageGroup

Small Silver employers

  • Deutsche Bank
  • Gilead Sciences

Small Bronze employers

  • Allen & Overy
  • Pinsent Masons
  • Russell Kennedy Lawyers


Health + Wellbeing Index

Service Provider of the Year

  • Advance Diversity Services

Most Improved of the Year

  • ADSSI Ltd

Gold employers

  • Advance Diversity Services
  • Medibank
  • Uniting NSW/ACT

Silver employers

  • Flourish Australia
  • NADA: Network of Alcohol and Other Drugs Agencies
  • UnitingCare Qld

Bronze employer

  • ADSSI Ltd



Australian Workplace Equality Index

Sally Webster Ally Award Finalists:

  • Belinda Young, AGL Energy
  • Hannah Wright, EnergyAustralia
  • Genevieve Hawkins, Coles

Network Leader of the Year Award Finalists:

  • Nathan Eastwood, Clifford Chance
  • Ben Brown, QBE
  • Mark Sangiuliano, CBRE

Out Role Model Award Finalists:

  • Dwayne Mullins, BHP
  • Steph Sands, Capgemini
  • Cathy Grassick, Australian Federal Police

Executive Leadership Award Finalists:

  • Glenn Morgan, Deutsche Bank
  • Alicia Albury, Maddocks
  • Gordon Williams, MinterEllison

Inclusion of Trans and Gender Diverse Employees Award Finalists:

  • RMIT University
  • NAB
  • Deakin University

Network of the Year Award Finalists:

  • P. Morgan
  • CBRE
  • PwC
  • QBE
  • RMIT University

Sapphire Inspire Award Finalists:

  • Amelia Kondilios PwC
  • Alix Sampson, AGL
  • Meri Machin-Roberts, KPMG

Last Updated on Jun 11, 2020

The news team for Gay Nation love tips from our readers. Got tips or a news story that you would like published? Go here to tell us something.
Visit the Gay Nation store Now