Riverdale Ep.302b -- T13.2020252 -- Photo Credit: Dean Buscher / © 2018 Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. All Rights Reserved.
2 min read

The sensational teen drama “Riverdale” is set to receive an award for its depiction of high school LGBTQ relationships.

The Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN) have announced that cast and creators of “Riverdale” will be honoured with its Gamechanger Award at the 2019 GLSEN Respect Awards on October 25 in Los Angeles.

The Gamechanger Award is reserved for the next generation making a difference for the LGBTQ community and around the world.


Executive Director of GLSEN Eliza Byard said “Riverdale” exemplifies all of those ideals with the amazing, diverse cast and groundbreaking storytelling about LGBTQ relationships.

“We’ve watched the cast and producers of Riverdale create a show where LGBTQ characters fall in love, break up, get back together, and experience all the fun and challenges of high school,” said Eliza Byard, Executive Director of GLSEN.

“It’s so powerful when LGBTQ young people can see their lives and experiences reflected on screen, and we look forward to honouring Riverdale with the GLSEN Gamechanger Award.”

The American CW series is a modern take on the “Archie” comics characters. Its stars include KJ Apa, Lili Reinhart, Camila Mendes, Cole Sprouse and Madelaine Petsch.

“Riverdale” returns for its fourth season on October 9 in the US and October 11 on Netflix in Australia and New Zealand, with the season premiere featuring a tribute to Luke Perry who played an integral character in the show but who passed away of a stroke in March.

Riverdale season 3

The GLSEN Respect Awards, introduced in 2004 and held annually in Los Angeles and New York, showcase the work of students, educators, community leaders, and corporations who serve as exemplary role models and have made a significant impact on the lives of LGBTQ youth.

Past honorees include Kerry Washington, Jessica Biel and Justin Timberlake, Marilyn & Jeffrey Katzenberg, Julia Roberts and Danny Moder, Zendaya, Brendon Urie, Shonda Rhimes, and Carla Gugino.

Previous Gamechanger Award recipients include Connor Franta, Yara Shahidi, and Zendaya.

Last Updated on Sep 10, 2019

The news team for Gay Nation love tips from our readers. Got tips or a news story that you would like published? Go here to tell us something.
Visit the Gay Nation store Now